Healthy Whole Wheat Pumpkin Raisin Muffins

In my binder of tried and true recipes, there is an especially treasured section that I have reserved for special occasions and special guests.  These recipes are the best of the best.  The tastiest of the tastiest.  They’re foolproof, delightfully delicious, and my absolutely favorites.

So when a friend of mine needed a pick-me-up over the weekend, I turned to a favorite quick-bread recipe that I knew would bring a smile to her face.

But here is the problem…

Little did I realize that it was one of those days.

I’m fairly convinced that there are days that are just not meant for baking.  You know, the days when everything that could go wrong… does.  They are baking days that only Murphy’s Law could explain,  thanks to cracking cheesecakes, soggy breads, watery veggies, and sticking cookies.

I mean, we are certainly not to blame!    😉

So unfortunately, thanks to my having just such a day on Sunday, my first attempt at baking a banana bread (a bread I have made perfectly time and time again) ended in pure failure.  That is, unless you like soggy bread that tastes like batter.  During the next three hours, Nate and I both took a rushed trip to the grocery store to pick up additional ingredients…  and had conversations along the lines of this:

Me: Do you think this tastes right?

Nate, shrugging a bit: It’s not bad.

Me:  That means it’s not good. I have to make another one.

(After which point, I proceeded to eat several large bites… you know, in the hopes that the next bite would magically taste delicious).

An hour later, after the second attempt and after also messing up that night’s dinner: 

Me: Oh goodness, what’s wrong with me?  Try this. It’s off still.

Nate… silence…  silence… silence:

Me:  Well??

Nate:  It’s not bad…

Me:  Are you lying to me just so that I’ll stop baking?  Because I can tell that you’re lying.

Nate:  If I tell you the truth, will I have to go to the grocery store again?

Hmmm, my husband is a smart man… Ha!

Yes, it’s Murphy’s Law, I tell you.  But that being said, the last attempt came out quite perfect, and my friend was happy to have a warm banana bread to munch on between her sniffles and sneezes.  And me and Nate?  Well, we ate lots and lots of half-baked banana bread for dinner.  😉

Anyone else have Murphy’s Law Baking Days?

But, anyway, after all that… Here is a recipe for Whole Weat Pumpkin Raisin Muffins that is foolproof.  They’re healthy; full of fiber to keep you feeling satisfied; spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves; and dotted with sweet raisins that plump in the oven.  They make a delicious snack or a hearty breakfast.

Thank you to my sister Sarah for sharing this new recipe favorite!

Healthy Whole Wheat Pumpkin Raisin Muffins

  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 2/3 c. white flour
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. cloves
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 1/2 c. raisins
  1. Combine dry ingredients (up to and including salt)
  2. Combine wet ingredients.
  3. Stir dry ingredients with wet ingredients just until moistened (do not overmix)
  4. Fold in raisins with rubber spatula.
  5. Spoon into 12 sprayed muffin cups.  Bake at 350 for 22-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Cool for 10 minutes.  Remove and place on wire rack.  Cool completely.

Calories: 161 Saturated Fat: 1g Fiber: 2g Protein: 3g

Leave a Reply

