The Easiest, Most-Delicious Banana Muffins

I love asking people what their comfort foods are…

There are so many possibilities, hinging on backgrounds, experiences, flavor preferences, and even specific moods.  I know that I, for one, have a wide range of comfort foods, depending on the season or even how I feel.  My family certainly knows that Chicken Pot Pie is at the tippity-top of my list… always.

Last weekend, I was reminded of an old, comfort-food classic of mine, when I was cooking dinner for my Pepere.  Velveeta Mac’n Cheese.  It’s certainly not a meal that you’ll find in a low-fat or healthy cookbook, but when I took a bite and was transported in time back to my Memere’s kitchen on the night of a sleepover, I came to terms with the fact that I just didn’t care.

Sometimes… every once in awhile… foods are just meant for that.  Comfort.  Memories.  Warmth topped with melted, ooey-gooey cheese.

And this banana bread recipe also falls into that category.  My sister has an amazing, lower-fat recipe that I’ll have to share with you sometime.  But today?  Today was just one of those days that begged for a good old-fashioned banana bread, richly sweetened with bananas, sugar, and butter.

This recipe comes together so quickly that it’s almost unbelievable how delicious it is.  You won’t even need to take out the mixer.  Each bite is simply bursting with pure banana flavor.  Delicious as is… or with a handful of mini chocolate chips thrown in for an extra special treat.

Some days just call for recipe’s like this.  And, yeah, today was one of those days.

Try it…  It just might be a new favorite.  🙂

(This recipe is for 12 banana muffins… I chose to double the recipe and make two banana breads… One for me and one for Pepere).

The Easiest, Most-Delicious Banana Muffins (from Cooks.com)

3 lg. bananas, mashed
3/4 c. granulated sugar
1 slightly beaten egg
1/3 c. melted butter
Mix the above ingredients together and add:
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 c. flour
Grease 12 muffin tins and bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.
Enjoy!!  🙂
Leave a Reply

