Souper Sunday – Corn Chowder

I decided to start up my Souper Sunday challenge again, during which I make a different soup recipe every Sunday.  Both my husband and I adore a steaming bowl of soup for dinner, especially in the fall and winter.  And this challenge, which I usually begin every September through late spring, encourages me to make a wide assortment of them.

Corn chowder was the first on my must-make list, because – to be honest – I’ve yet to find the perfect corn chowder recipe.  So I wanted to tackle a tough, but potentially delicious, recipe first!  🙂

Paula Deen has yet to let me down, so I decided to give her Chef Jack’s corn chowder recipe a try.  And honestly, it was the BEST corn chowder recipe I’ve made yet.  It was creamy, thick, and chockful of corn flavor.  Every bit the comfort food it should be.

I made a few variations to the original by substituting whole milk for the cream and cutting the butter in half.  (Oh, and I added a few pieces of bacon for good measure).  🙂  Sooooo delicious!

Paula Deen’s corn chowder (with a few modifications.  Find the original recipe here)

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
1 small onion, diced
1 small carrot, finely diced
4 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
3 cups white corn kernels, fresh
3 cups chicken stock
2 cups whole milk
Pinch freshly grated nutmeg
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Melt  butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion, carrot, and garlic, and saute for 2 minutes. Add the flour and stir to make a roux. Cook until the roux is lightly browned; set aside to cool to room temperature.

Meanwhile, combine the corn, bacon, and chicken stock in another saucepan, and bring to a boil. Simmer for 10 minutes. Pour the boiling stock with the corn (a little at a time) into the saucepan with the roux, whisking briskly so it doesn’t lump. Return the skillet to the heat and bring to a boil. The mixture should become very thick.

In a small saucepan, gently heat the whole milk; stir it into the thick corn mixture. Add the nutmeg and salt and pepper, to taste.  Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

