Souper Sunday – Slow Cooker Butternut Squash Soup

This soup is simple but delicious.  I don’t know that I’d say it’s my favorite butternut squash soup ever…  But it’s probably the easiest to make, thanks to the slow cooker doing most of the work.  It has a nice touch of sweetness from the maple syrup and fall spices.  Although it’s not rich, it is very healthy.  I think that maybe it was a little sweet for my preference, as I was looking for a squash soup that was a little more savory with just a touch of sweetness.  But I enjoyed it and would make it again when I needed an easy, crockpot soup recipe.

(I mention that my parents and sister absolutely LOVE this recipe!!!  I gave them some leftovers in cute mason jars, and my mom called me immediately after trying it and gushed that it tasted as though it were from a restaurant).  So it comes down to personal preference and is definitely worth trying!

This soup is best served with a hearty sandwich on a chilly day.  🙂  And it makes for yummy leftovers!!


 

Slow Cooker Butternut Squash Soup  (from Two Peas and Their Pod)

For the Butternut Squash Soup:
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
3 medium carrots, peeled and chopped
1 medium butternut squash, peeled, seeded and chopped into 1-inch cubes (about 5 cups)
1 large apple, peeled and chopped (I used Granny Smith)
2 (14 oz) cans low sodium vegetable broth  (I actually used chicken broth instead)
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 tablespoons maple syrup
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Add the onion, carrots, butternut squash, and apple to the slow cooker. Pour the vegetable broth over all of the ingredients. Cook on low for 6 hours or on high for 3 1/2 to 4 hours.

2. Once vegetables are cooked and soft, puree the soup using an immersion blender. Add the cinnamon, nutmeg, and maple syrup. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can transfer the soup to a blender (in batches) and puree until smooth. Pour the soup back into the slow cooker and season with spices and maple syrup.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Souper Sunday – Slow Cooker Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

