Freezer Meal Reviews – Chicken Cordon Bleu

Since I have a itty-bitty baby arriving in 4 weeks (or less if my mom is right and baby decides to arrive early), I’ve decided to tackle as many freezer meals over the next two weeks as I possibly can.  The goal is to not have to cook much at all during the month of December, so that I can focus on quality time with my newborn… and rest.  My mom has already assured me that she’ll be making us some fresh meals, and a couple of friends have also offered to cook us a meal.  So if I can supplement that with several freezer meals, we’ll be good to go!

Or, I guess more accurately, we’ll be good to stay all snuggled up at home.  🙂

I’ve actually never made freezer meals before, so I’m quite new at this.  Therefore, I can’t guarantee you that any of the freezer meal recipes I post will be worth eating once they have been thawed and heated.  😉  So, that being said, once the hubby and I have actually tasted the freezer meals and can accurately review them, I’ll add a review section at the bottom of the recipe to let you all know how it was!


Generally, I try to avoid canned soups such as Campbell’s at all costs; because – let’s face it – they’re not exactly made of ingredients that you can find in your pantry, refrigerator, or garden.  But I do make an exception every once in awhile for convenience sake.  I figured that eating it a few times a year won’t hurt us, especially if I’m cooking from scratch the rest of the time.

So I was really excited when I came across this Chicken Cordon Bleu recipe from Freezer Meals for Us.  I mean, you can’t get any easier than this recipe, especially since it doesn’t have to be baked in advance.  There’s no chopping… no stirring… no measuring.

Just layer, pour, wrap, and toss into the freezer.

Is this recipe too good to be true?  I’ll find out in December.  But for now, I’m pretty excited that I was able to get a freezer meal into the freezer in less than 15 minutes!

The only thing I changed was that I actually used 8 slices of Swiss cheese and 8 slices of ham.  (The chicken breasts I bought were fairly large, and I wanted to make sure that they were covered well).   Then, since I only needed each meal to serve 2, I divided the chicken into two 8×8 foil pans and just topped the chicken with the soup, cheese, ham, and then bread crumbs.  This way, Nate and I can get two separate meals out of this one recipe.  🙂

Score!

 


 

Chicken Cordon Bleu

4 Chicken breast
1 can Cream of chicken soup (I used a 30z can)
4 slices Swiss cheese
4 slices Ham
3 oz Bread crumps

Lay chicken breast (uncooked) in pan. Pour cream of chicken soup on top. Layer ham and swiss cheese. Top with bread crumbs.  Cover with foil (shiny side down) and back at 400 for 1 1/2 hours or until no longer pink inside.  I like to take lid off foil the last 8 minutes of baking.


Recipe Review:  Coming Soon!

 

 

One thought on “Freezer Meal Reviews – Chicken Cordon Bleu

  1. I have made this freezer meal in the past and it was a hit! I love how easy it is to put together as well. I’m actually getting ready to put together some meals myself today. This one is definitely on the list. Congrats on your bundle of joy! The freezer meals will be a great help!

Leave a Reply

